Mohammed Shami Replaces Hardik Pandya In ICC World XI For Match Against West Indies

Mohammed Shami Replaces Hardik Pandya In ICC World XI For Match Against West Indies

India all-rounder Hardik Pandya has pulled out of ICC World XI squad that will play a fund-raising Twenty20 International match against West Indies at Lord’s Cricket Ground on May 31 and India fast bowler Mohammed Shami will be replaced in the crucial match.

Pandya’s absence from the tournament due to viral infection has made Shami the second India player in the squad along with Dinesh Karthik. England wrist-spinner Adil Rashid has joined the squad as second England player to join the team led by Eoin Morgan.


Controversy-laden bowler Shami has represented India in seven T20Is in which he has picked up eight wickets whereas Rashid has played 28 T20Is in which he has taken 23 wickets. They both have played for their respective sides in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

The reigning ICC World Twenty20 champions, Windies have the likes of Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree and Andre Russell in their squad which is led by Carlos Brathwaite. All the proceeds from this match will be used to redevelop the stadia in the Caribbean, which were damaged due to hurricanes last year.

The venues that will benefit include the Ronald Webster Park in Anguilla, the Sir Viv Richards Stadium in Antigua, Windsor Park Stadium in Dominica, the A.O. Shirley Recreation Ground in the British Virgin Islands and the Carib Lumber Ball Park in St. Maarten.

The star-studded batting line-up of the World XI squad includes one player each from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka and two players each from New Zealand and Pakistan.

ICC World XI: Eoin Morgan (capt) (Eng), Shahid Afridi (Pak), Tamim Iqbal (Ban), Dinesh Karthik (Ind), Rashid Khan (Afg), Sandeep Lamichhane (Nep), Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ), Shoaib Malik (Pak), Thisara Perera (SL), Luke Ronchi (NZ), Adil Rashid (Eng) and Mohammed Shami (Ind).

West Indies: Carlos Brathwaite(capt), Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Samuel Badree, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams

Source by newsworldindia